top of page
  • Writer's pictureRomance Movie Fanatic

The Engagement Back-Up



Movie: The Engagement Back-Up

Starring: Elise Gatien, Preston Vanderslice

Network: UPtv


Synopsis: When traditionalist historian Luna is entrusted with the legacy of her late father’s nautical museum, she must pretend that she’s engaged to the infamous son of a tech mogul in order to save it. But in discovering that there’s more to Jackson than meets the eye, can she broaden her romantic horizons as well as her professional ones?


⚠🛑 Disclaimer: This review may contain movie spoilers


Rating: ⭐⭐⭐3/4


Review:


A shaky start to the movie but overall I enjoyed this one. One of my favourite romance movie tropes is that of the fake couple and/or engagement. In this movie we find Luna (Gatien) in need of some good publicity for her struggling museum. Her friend inadvertently sends a photo announcing Luna's "engagement" to eligible bachelor Jackson (Vanderslice). Instead of stopping the mistake, Luna and Jackson decide to keep up appearances to both gain the publicity they need. Her for the museum, and for him...to show daddy and the company that he is growing up and ready to take on more responsibility in life and with the company.


I'm not the biggest fan of Preston Vanderslice but admittedly he was pretty tolerable in this role. He had fantastic chemistry with Gatien and had some redeeming qualities toward the end. But I have to say....what was the deal with the short pants and no socks? I did not like the wardrobe at all for him. This is not a look that I like at all. I'm not one to be all up on fashion but that was a huge no for me. He looked ridiculous in the pants that barely covered his calves and no socks in loafers.


Loved the chemistry between the leads. I especially liked the ending. I knew there was a reason he kept telling her that he would get back to her about when he knew he was in love. That ending was perfect.


I really enjoyed Luna's mother, best friend and Posey (Jackson's sister). I thought they did a fantastic job in the movie. Additionally, Gatien was solid as the female lead. Yes she had some ridiculous qualities and of course over the top reactions...especially at the fake engagement party...but overall she was good.


I have to point out that Luna's fit at the engagement party was a bit much. Look...I know by then she didn't want to keep up the facade but can we say...just a bit too dramatic. Jackson tried to talk to her and explain his feelings but she wouldn't listen and just stormed off. And then when she overheard Jackson speaking with Posey about something she already knew...for her to lash out at Jackson was a bit ridiculous IMO. Geez...it's not a surprise that he was in on this fake engagement to gain favour with his dad and to better his career. Uh...that's what he said at the beginning. So I'm not sure why she had a bit of a meltdown here.


Oh and another thing....who turns down a chance to get their book published? Yes I realize in the end that she pursues it but seriously? Didn't understand that one.



83 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

#Xmas

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page