top of page
  • Writer's pictureRomance Movie Fanatic

A Holiday Spectacular



Movie: A Holiday Spectacular

Starring: Ginna Claire Mason, Derek Klena, Eve Plumb, Ann-Margret

Network: Hallmark Channel

Rating (out of 5 stars): ⭐⭐⭐⭐


Synopsis: In 1958, Maggie is an heiress from Philadelphia who puts her high-society wedding plans on hold in order to sneak up to New York City and make her secret dream come true: dancing live on stage in the Christmas Spectacular at Radio City Music Hall.


⚠🛑 Disclaimer: This review may contain movie spoilers


Review:

This movie was a pleasant surprise. I have to admit that I wasn't really going to watch it as I had zero interest in it based on the previews. But I decided to watch this last night and it was definitely not what I expected. It was a 1950s filled tale of a woman trying to achieve her dream of becoming a Rockette before going home to live the life that her parents expected her to live. A movie filled with dancing, 1950s costumes, friendship, family conflict and romance. I was actually disappointed when the movie ended as I wanted to continue watching her story after they kissed. I would have loved to see them both achieve their dreams. See his time away in the navy while she waited at home. See her continue on with the Rockettes. See them get married and have their children. Honestly I would not be disappointed if there was a sequel continuing on with their love story.


The good

Time Period - I love an old style flashback movie and this did not disappoint. From the 50s fashion to the 50s hair, I had the pleasure of being part of a time period that I never experienced. This was by far the best part of the movie for me.


Plot - I enjoyed this plot immensely. A girl growing up in a well off family who is expected to achieve certain things in life based on her status. She knows she is expected to marry into a prominent family regardless of whether she loves the boy but she doesn't want to abandon her dreams. She wants something more and leaves to try and achieve these goals. While away she meets a young man who also wants different dreams for himself than what his parents desire for him. Together they form a long lasting friendship, support each other 100%, and fall in love. Oh yeah, don't forget to add in some great music, scenery and dancing. This movie had it all.


This plot was such a refreshing change from you standard Hallmark tropes. We didn't have any executives trying to buy family business. We didn't have fake relationships or mending fences with long lost loves. We just had an old fashioned love story with a strong message to never give up on achieving your dreams.


Chemistry - I absolutely loved the relationship between Maggie and John. It was a friends to lovers story. Slow burning. A love that had two people fully supportive of each other. This was a love story of a lifetime. It was beautifully done and beautifully portrayed on screen.


Performances - The entire leading cast and supporting cast were fantastic. Ann-Margret playing the role of older Maggie was so lovely to see. It has been awhile since I have seen her on screen. Special focus has to be on the performance of lead actress Ginna Claire Mason. I have never seen her in any movie before and she was brilliant as Maggie. Stunningly beautiful in her 50s hair and fashion. A great addition to the movie and she can dance too! Derek Klena was wonderful as well and he and Ginna Claire Mason were perfectly paired. The Rockettes were great as per expected. I just wish we could have seen more of them instead of seeing the same dance numbers over and over again.


Final Thoughts

This is a movie was an unexpected pleasant surprise for me. I was able to drift back into a different time period and get swept away by the music, fashion and a good old fashioned romance. This is definitely one I will be watching again.



154 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

#Xmas

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page