top of page
  • Writer's pictureRomance Movie Fanatic

An Unexpected Christmas

Updated: Jun 9, 2022


Release Date: Friday November 26 - 8pm

Movie: An Unexpected Christmas

Network: Hallmark


Synopsis: A writer convinces his ex-girlfriend to pose as a couple for Christmas.



Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


WARNING: This review may contain spoilers



Review:

Ladies and Gentlemen. If you have not watched this movie yet, my suggestion is to go ahead and do it NOW! Hands down the BEST movie from Hallmark this Christmas season.


My expectations were high for this one. High because it advertised some humour and some great actors. Tyler Hynes and Bethany Joy Lenz I had seen individually in many Hallmark movies so I knew that they both excelled in comedic roles. Now cast together in a movie, I had high hopes. Not only was there a great cast, but non other than Hallmark regular Paul Campbell was noted as the writer of the film. I knew it had to be a success as he is a comedic genius. Needless to say I had huge expectations for this one.


So what did this movie deliver? Everything! The writing was absolutely spectacular. It was quick, funny, and just a great deal of fun. I never lost interest at all. This isn't the first time Paul Campbell has written for Hallmark and it better not be the last. This guy has some serious talent both with his actor and his writing. I know Tyler is famous for doing a little ad lib in his movies, so I did wonder what lines were from the written pages, and what were from him or Joy. Nevertheless it worked and it worked extremely well.


Tyler Hynes was exceptional as Jamie. We all know he can deliver one liners and comedic gestures, and he did not disappoint. What was different for Hynes, in addition to the haircut and no facial hair, was that he played a character far different than the strong, cocky, confident man like his many other roles. In this film Jamie (Hynes) was insecure and lacked any real confidence in himself. The insecurities of his character were portrayed impeccably by Hynes. The way he held himself, his mannerisms, facial expressions, and gestures just showed the vulnerability of Hynes in this role. Yes his comedic timing was amazing as well. The scene with him as a unicorn was brilliant. I can't imagine how funny this would have been to witness this whole chaotic scene. Absolutely funny.


Bethany Joy Lenz just slayed this role. I knew she could throw one liners but she is a comedic genius. Her character was confident, cocky, and quirky all wrapped in a small package with a bow. Her sarcastic retorts, gestures and facial expressions were spot on. In fact one of the best things in the movie was she walks into the kitchen with Jamie, who is eating a cookie. He mutters something about sugar and just out of no where she slaps his cookie out of his hand. I laughed so hard and rewound that clip about 10 times as I found that brilliant. I have never seen her in a more perfect role. I would love to see her in more movies like this one. And can we just have a moment to talk about her hair and outfits in this role? Spectacular.


On screen chemistry metre? Off the charts. This pairing was unbelievable. Quite possibly one of the best pairings on screen by any Hallmark actors/actresses. I have my pairing favourites and , as do most, and up until now Kimberley Susted/Paul Campbell were my number 1 and Tyler Hynes/Erin Krakow were number 2. Well move on over everyone, Tyler Hynes/Bethany Joy Lenz have quickly moved into number 1. I would love to see them in something again. They were comfortable, very natural and their chemistry was just electric on screen.


Oh and can I talk about the scene when they all jump in the car to go get her at the train station? It was very similar to "Nottinghill" and equally as funny. When the grandmother held them up because she wanted a mint...absolutely hilarious. I can't really say enough about this movie. The plot was one of my favourites and this will be on my re-watch list every year. You will not be disappointed in this movie.


Did you watch this movie? Tell me your thoughts in the comments.





Recent Posts

See All

#Xmas

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page