top of page
  • Writer's pictureRomance Movie Fanatic

Angel Falls Christmas


Release Date: Friday November 26 - 8pm

Movie: Angel Falls Christmas

Network: GAC Family


Synopsis: Ally Morgan (Lowndes) is a workaholic ER doc struggling for work-life balance with her boyfriend, Josh (David Reale). On the night Josh is set to propose, he and Ally have a row about her pulling an extra shift on Christmas Eve which leads to a breakup. Josh knows with Ally work comes first. Ally is miserable alone before a chance encounter with a handsome barista, Gabe (Murray), leads her to fulfill a Christmas bucket list of fun activities she never would have ventured doing on her own. Ally’s best friend and fellow ER doctor, Dawn (Samora Smallwood), has never seen Ally so happy and is rooting for a Gabe-Ally relationship. Now, the saintly Maureen (Jane Luk) must redirect Gabe’s intentions if Josh and Ally have a chance at reconciliation this Christmas.

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐


WARNING: This review may contain spoilers


Review:

I actually don't know what to say about this movie. It wasn't at all what I expected.

I have to admit that I really don't like movies where one of the characters, especially the lead, is an Angel who comes down to help a poor soul. Well that's what this one was, and in this case Gabriel (Chad Michael Murray) was the angel selected to help Ally (Lowndes) who recently broke up with her boyfriend. I still don't like this plot and this movie really didn't do it for me.


So let me clear here, Chad Michael Murray and Jessica Loundes have an amazing onscreen chemistry every time they are on screen together. They have such an ease together and they are a treat to watch on screen. Their chemistry in this movie was the same however unfortunately it wasn't in the romantic way. I have to admit that I was actually shocked that GAC Family didn't have Gabe give up his angel wings to stay with his love Loundes. No in fact Lowndes was so in love with her ex-boyfriend, and Gabe was just here to show her the way back into his life. Shocking right? I thought so and I didn't like it. Not because it was a bad story line because it wasn't as it was unique, but because I just like these two together and I felt cheated. I enjoyed working through the Christmas bucket list with them as it was fun and entertaining. They were playful, had meaningful conversations and were just comfortable with each other.


Gabe (Murray) was solid in this role albeit I don't understand what the deal was with his voice. There seemed to be something different with the way he spoke and I didn't like it. It wasn't the same smooth talking, confident guy I am used to. I understand he played an Angel and that probably was the reason, however I didn't like it. And can I ask, why does this guy not age? He actually looks better now then he did 20 years ago. He gets better looking with age.


Lowndes was good as well. It was nice to see her in a strong, confident role as a doctor. A workaholic doctor who just needed help with her priorities. She was playful and charming in this role. I also really liked her relationship with her ex-boyfriend/boyfriend. As much as I wanted her together with Gabe, I really liked her with Josh (David Reale). Josh was just a great guy and you really felt bad for him.


Overall it was an ok movie that I just can't seem to get myself to give more than a 3 star rating. I don't like Angel movies and I didn't like how it didn't turn into the typical love story at the end. I have to give it to GAC Family though for thinking outside the box on this one and not having their main leads end up together as that it a bold new move.


Did you watch this movie? Tell me your thoughts in the comments.




37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

#Xmas

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page