top of page
  • Writer's pictureRomance Movie Fanatic

Christmas on 5th Avenue

Release Date: Sunday November 21 - 7pm

Movie: Christmas on 5th Avenue

Network: UPtv

Starring: Kathryn Davis, Olivier Renaud, Samantha Helt


Synopsis: Hopeless romantic Eva Jordan decorates a spectacular Manhattan Penthouse for Christmas and brings moody writer Lucas Blade some joy for the holidays.


Rating: ⭐⭐⭐1/2


WARNING: This review may contain spoilers


Review:

I didn't have high hopes for this movie. I thought it would be your typical writer has writer block and then girl provides him the inspiration he needs to write his novel. Well okay yes that part is true, however it was mixed with something else. I enjoyed this movie. Not only was it about a moody writer, but it also offered the "two people having to stay in the same place" story line. I love those plot lines so that surprised me in a good way. Yes Eva (Kathryn Davis) was a bit too chirpy for my liking, but that's what she was supposed to be...an over the top Christmas nut. So I guess Kathryn Davis nailed the role as she was very chirpy. Lucas (Olivier Renaud) was the down in the dumps writer who was a bit stiff in his role. He looked awkward and uncomfortable in most scenes and even though he was supposed to be a reformed man by the end, he didn't really seem to change too much. His performance was stiff, mostly expressionless and it was definitely not remarkable by any means.


I'm not really sure if there was any real chemistry between Renaud and Davis. It's hard to tell because Davis really carried this movie. So any real sparks I don't know if it was because the two worked together, or if it was just Davis providing some semblance of a relationship for both characters. There were some really cute moments between them though. The little things that Lucas did for her were sweet. Loved that he paid attention to the little things like the dress for the gala, her wanting to see her parents at Christmas etc. Those little things were such a romantic gesture and any girl would love that. Not to mention the final text where she was asked to grant the wish for someone who wanted to get something for the love of his life....and there he was standing outside the jewelry store. Oh my. His proposal and everything about that scene I loved. A beautiful bow wrapped around this movie to end it so nicely. But once again Renaud was stiff in delivering these elements and I wonder if it was the writing of these scenes and what they were supposed to be about that made this noteworthy for me. I don't think it was him that sold it for me but rather the writing behind it.


There were a few points where I laughed a bit for the humour. When they were at the table and she asked "Am I that much of an open book?" His reply had me laugh..."More like an audio book." Whoever thought of that was genius. It was so good. And then near the end where her father says "Anyone who doesn't love you is a nitwit," I laughed so hard because I don't think I've ever heard that said by anyone except my own family.


A couple of over reactions in the movie to highlight though. When they were at the fancy event and he was doing the book signing, she was approached by a many who was obviously a slimy guy. Lucas went to let her know that he was a jerk and gee whiz did she over react to his input. "Why do you care?" It was a bit much in my opinion. And then back at the condo all of a sudden she was complaining about never finding the love of her life. Whoa...where'd that come from considering 2 weeks prior you were telling him that he had a dismal look on love.


Anyway outside of a few minor things I would say that this one was enjoyable and worth the view. I'm not sure it would be on a regular Christmas movie rotation to watch every year however it is worth at least one viewing.


Did you watch this movie? Tell me your thoughts in the comments.




Recent Posts

See All

#Xmas

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page