top of page
  • Writer's pictureRomance Movie Fanatic

Dating the Delaneys



Movie: Dating the Delaneys

Starring: Rachel Boston, Paul Campbell

Network: Hallmark Channel


Synopsis:

Three generations of Delaney women explore the highs and lows of modern-day dating, learning that love and romance can be found at any age -- and sometimes where they least expect it.


⚠🛑 Disclaimer: This review may contain movie spoilers


Rating: ⭐⭐⭐


Review:

So I was excited to watch this one as I loved Paul Campbell and Rachel Boston in their last movie together "The Last Bridesmaid." But alas, this movie was just ok for me.


The plot had potential but the story ended up falling a bit flatter than I wanted. I thought more could have been done with the three stories. The title and synopsis led me to believe that we would see three different stories however we didn't really see much out of the grandma's love life story and I honestly would have loved to see more. The love interest of the daughter was a dud. Seriously I'm not sure why she wasted so much time with Zach as he was a jerk. I just thought "Dating The Delaneys" would give me more dating and it just didn't. Even the romantic leads only went on one practice date and then an almost cookie baking lesson session. This story was the most interesting one of the three and I just would have loved to see more practice dating.


Paul Campbell and Rachel Boston have a natural ease playing opposite of each other. They are really the reason that I continued to watch the movie. Their dynamic on screen is just fantastic and they carried the movie. They are both natural and play comedy well...even when that comedy comes in the form of never ending corny jokes.


The chemistry was ok albeit you didn't have that same realization from Maggie (Boston) until really late in the movie. David (Campbell) had an obvious interest in Maggie right from the beginning and he was charming and an all around sweet guy. There were moments that he would say or look at her that would just make me smile. I enjoyed the little zoom chat and when the doorbell rang and he said he had to go only for her to realize that he sent her chinese food...I smiled. What a sweet gesture. I just wondered why it took her so long to realize that this sweet guy who was her barometer was someone she should be interested in. My goodness...the rest of us knew how great he was.


I do have to say that the humour just wasn't my kind of funny. I found it a bit much and at times it was hard to watch. What I do appreciate is that Campbell and Boston just kept laying it on. It just didn't stop. I kept thinking...filming of this movie must have been filled with alot of laughs. I did like some of the reactions from the supporting characters who thought the jokes were bad. When her friend hung up on her after her joke, I laughed so hard. I thought this was so funny. I would have done the same.


So was it a great movie? No. It was ok. Something that I won't watch again but it was an ok one time watch courtesy of outstanding acting by Paul Campbell and Rachel Boston.



147 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

#Xmas

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page