top of page
  • Writer's pictureRomance Movie Fanatic

Dying for Chocolate: A Curious Caterer Mystery



Movie: Dying for Chocolate: A Curious Caterer Mystery

Network: Hallmark Movies & Mysteries

Starring: Nikki Deloach, Andrew Walker


Synopsis: Goldy Berry is a Colorado caterer who's thrust into the role of town sleuth to help solve a friend's mysterious death. With the clock ticking, she strikes up an unlikely partnership with a detective to find the killer.


⚠🛑 Disclaimer: This review may contain movie spoilers


Rating: ⭐⭐⭐


Review:

I have watched hundreds of Hallmark movies but never felt led to enter the world of the mystery series with the exception of the Signed, Sealed, Delivered series which I LOVE! I'm not sure most would categorize SSD as a mystery series so for the sake of this blog, let's just say I have never watched a true Hallmark mystery. Now believe me I know there are numerous series that people tell me to watch and I will eventually but full disclosure, I never felt the urge. Well last night I decided to watch my first Hallmark mystery starring Nikki Deloach and Andrew Walker. I chose this to watch as I really enjoy these actors separately and also like them onscreen together. Did I like it? Sure it was good in some ways and in other ways, it didn't really "tickle my fancy." I am not disappointed that I watched it and do see the potential that this series could pick up for multiple movies and hopefully get better along the way.


The good:


*Nikki Deloach once again had a solid onscreen presence and really cove into her character and delivered an authentic and real performance. I thought she was believable as the "Curious Caterer" Goldy. I did find it a bit ridiculous that she was allowed to keep butting in everywhere including crime scenes without penalty, but alas it's a movie right. Nevertheless I thought she is what really carried this movie.

*Chemistry - Nikki Deloach and Andrew Walker have an onscreen chemistry that is dynamite. They have an off screen friendship that resonates on screen and makes their interaction that much more spectacular in their movies. This movie was no exception. They were natural and comfortable with each other and I enjoyed watching them. There were hints of little "chemistry" moments but I assume this will be an ongoing series of movies so they can't rush any romance at this point. The played off each other, had a bit of humour and were just natural. I love seeing them work together and look forward to their next movie.

*Plot - the plot was interesting enough but what made it stand out was that there were numerous twists and turns. It was a bit different to other mysteries as most you are always able to figure out "whodunit" fairly early on. Well this one was different as it did a great job in fooling me. I thought for sure I knew who it was and then they threw me for a loop. I would never have suspected and was thrilled when I realized that I was way off in my thought process.


The not as good:

Nabbing the suspect: I found it absolutely ridiculous that Goldy confronted the killer and then proceeded to "nab" him by herself while the detective basically stood by and watched it happen. Look I know Goldy is the star of the movie but realistically this was a little far fetched and quite frankly too rushed. It felt like the writers were just wanting a little intrigue at the end and wrote a quick little tense situation and needed to wrap it up with a bow quickly. I thought more could have been done to make the ending a little more realistic and interesting.

Andrew Walker - Although overall AW had his usual chemistry with Nikki Deloach there was something off about his character. I don't know if it was the writing or the way he portrayed him, but I almost didn't find it believable that he was a detective or could even control heading up a case like this.


The Curious Caterer was an ok start to my mystery movie watching courtesy of Hallmark. It was a nice change of pace from all of the romance movies that I watch and I think I will step into the mystery world soon. What would you recommend that I watch first?



21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

#Xmas

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page