top of page
  • Writer's pictureRomance Movie Fanatic

Game, Set, Love



Movie: Game, Set, Love

Starring: Davida Williams, Richard Harmon


Network: Hallmark Channel


Synopsis: Former tennis pro Taylor reluctantly agrees to coach her friend and the "bad boy of tennis" Will for a mixed doubles tournament only to find there is a lot more to him than she thought.


⚠🛑 Disclaimer: This review may contain movie spoilers


Rating: ⭐⭐⭐


Review:

I had zero expectations for this movie to be honest with you. The previews looked less than stellar and I had no previous knowledge of either actor. After watching it...it was just ok. Really nothing to get excited about. It was an ok watch with some humour.


So I am a tennis player. I have to admit that some of this was painful to watch. The leads clearly are not tennis players. That was quite obvious. From the way they held their racket, to the way they served a ball. Yeah they are not tennis players. You would never play in the rain for one but I guess you do in a Hallmark movie. And honestly the budget of this movie was obviously very low and you could tell. The "tournament" in particular at the end was just awful. I mean my high school tennis courts were better than the supposed tournament space. The match point"injury" at the end was a bit much.


The leads played opposite to each other well albeit I didn't get much of a romantic vibe. The banter back and forth was probably my favourite thing about this movie. There were some great banter between them. And the delivery method from Richard Harmon was spot on. That guy had some great one liners and had me laughing. It's a good thing because I hate to be mean but I actually found the guy to be a little creepy at first. The way he acted, the way he would look at people, his slow, almost too chill manner of speech actually made me a little leery of the guy. I kept thinking he would turn into a vampire or serial killer. But thankfully the humour kind of helped me lean away from the serial killer vibe and had me laughing and enjoying his character by the end. But tell me please...does he play a vampire, serial killer or someone evil in another show? If not...he needs to. 😃 Oh by the way...when he was growling at that photo shoot...that was hilarious.


I liked the character development that was shown between the two leads alot. Yes Will was depicted as a John McEnroe type...albeit with awful footage of his outbursts...but you saw his true character start to shine when he helped train some of the tennis students. When he opened up about his relationship with his parents you really started to understand why he was the way he was and I enjoyed this aspect of the film. The same can be said with the development of Taylor and how she held herself back from a possible tennis career because she felt compelled to stay with her dad after her mother's death. This development of both leads and how they helped each other is what made me enjoy the movie.


Overall the movie wasn't the best one in 2022 but it was a half decent movie. I admit that my first attempt to watch it saw me turn it off after 30 minutes. But once I was in a better frame of mine, I gave it another chance and I am glad I did.



87 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

#Xmas

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page