top of page
  • Writer's pictureRomance Movie Fanatic

Harmony From The Heart


Rating: ⭐⭐⭐1/4

Movie: Harmony From The Heart

Network: GAC


Starring: Jesse Metcalfe, Jessica Lowndes


Synopsis: Musical therapist Violet and doctor Blake butt heads over methods while taking care of Blake's grandfather, but they soon come to realize that sometimes love is the best medicine of all.


Warning: The review may contain movie spoilers.


Review:

GAC Family's newest movie aired last weekend. "Harmony From the Heart" stars Jessica Lowndes and Jesse Metcalfe. To be honest, I'm not a huge Jesse Metcalfe or Jessica Lowndes fan so I can't say I was overly excited to watch this movie. Honestly it was not bad. Not stellar but not bad.


I found the plot of the movie to be original and it had a lot of potential. Didn't quite live up to what they could have done but it was still good. I was just happy it didn't fall into the typical Hallmark plot lines we get so often. In the movie you have Violet (Lowndes) who is a musical therapist. Her professor says she will pass the course if she can get a patient (the teacher's brother) to talk. Not sure how ethical that is but anyway she agrees. I still don't quite understand what was wrong with the guy in the first place. Perhaps I missed that part but I found myself trying to figure out what was wrong with him as he seemed generally OK. Her first meeting with the patient was a bit ridiculous. She sits down and...knowing he doesn't talk...starts with getting him to try and sing. LOL. She tries another technique and same thing. I laughed as the whole thing was a few minutes and by the end she looks like she's tried all her tricks and is done. Not to mention that his wife seems immediately gutted that it didn't work in the first session too and doesn't want to continue the sessions.


Now she does have someone along to help her who is the patients grandson Blake (Metcalfe). He is a surgeon who doesn't believe music therapy will do anything to help. I didn't buy for one second that Metcalfe was a surgeon. Anyway, I'm supposed to believe he's a surgeon. Blake has a brother who owns a chocolate shop. That brother has a side story line and falls in love with Violet's best friend love at first sight...yawn. Before I get too side tracked on that side plot I'm not sure how it happens, as they don't really seem to have too many deep conversations or "get-to-know" you moments, but somehow Violet and Blake fall in love. Honestly I didn't feel any chemistry between these actors. I'm sure it has something to do with the fact that I'm not the biggest fan of either of them but nevertheless there should have been something that comes across on screen and I didn't really see that.


What I particularly liked in this movie was the singing/music and there was alot of it. Jessica Lowndes has a beautiful voice. She also wrote an original song which was beautiful. I also really liked the background story of the grandfather and grandma and how that ends up tying into the ending of the movie. I found that sweet and actually did have a tear in my eye.

It isn't the best movie I've seen and I certainly wouldn't watch it again. But if you need something to watch while you're folding laundry or making dinner, then I say go for it.



Recent Posts

See All

#Xmas

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page