top of page
  • Writer's pictureRomance Movie Fanatic

Hidden Gems



Movie: Hidden Gems

Network: Hallmark Channel

Starring: Hunter King, Beau Mirchoff


Synopsis: While prepping for her sister's wedding, Addie loses her grandmother's ring in the waters of Hawaii. She hires sailor Jack to scuba dive with her to find it and rediscovers her love of the sea.


⚠🛑 Disclaimer: This review may contain movie spoilers


Rating: ⭐⭐⭐


Review:

I am actually finding that it is difficult to formulate my thoughts on this movie. Not because it was bad but also because it wasn't overwhelmingly good. It was just ok. I can't put my finger on it but I mean it was good. I don't have anything bad to say about it really. Would I watch it again? Probably not. Do I regret watching it? Nope.


The movie welcomes newcomers Hunter King (Addie) and Beau Mirchoff (Jack) to the Hallmark world. They were overall pretty good in their roles and had acceptable chemistry. The romance was believable. I did find that they were both way to standoffish at the beginning though. A bit over the top IMO but I assume that was part of what was expected during their first meeting.This aside it didn't kill the movie in any way.


The plot was ok. Addie goes to Hawaii to be in her sisters wedding. She does water yoga wearing her "priceless" ring that her grandma gifted her. Not sure why she would wear this in the water but I guess they needed a plot. Anyway she of course loses the ring and Jack helps looking for it. During their time of diving..which by the way Addie is also an "expert" diver and wanna be marine expert, they get to know each other and fall for each other. Of course a bad guy has to come in which I found completely unnecessary. He finds the ring and then gets Jack to give up his life savings to get the ring for Addie. Addie decides to go home to her job she hates and then has a last minute epiphany and decides to stay. They find each other, make up and move forward both living in Hawaii, her pursuing her marine/aquatic dream, and future plans to sail away on a trip together. and talking about a future sailing trip. The end.


But wait...there is a sub-plot that honestly did not need to be in the movie at all. I forgot to mention that besides her trying to find her ring and finding her purpose in life, the whole reason they went to Hawaii was for her sisters wedding. So mixed in to the movie they are doing wedding stuff. Honestly this was NOT needed at all. Too much stuff going on really.

I will say that the scenery in this movie was spectacular. I loved the scenery and the underwater shots when they went scuba diving. It really made the movie stand out more for me as it was stunning.


So overall an ok movie that is enjoyable to watch but you won't miss out if you skip it either. Definitely a one and done movie for me.



98 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

#Xmas

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page