top of page
  • Writer's pictureRomance Movie Fanatic

Lights, Camera, Christmas!

Updated: Nov 6, 2022



Movie: Lights, Camera, Christmas!

Starring: Kimberley Sustad, John Brotherton

Network: Hallmark Channel


Synopsis: When a holiday rom-com movie shooting in her town needs a costume designer, Kerry, a local shop owner, steps into the role. While working on the movie, she rediscovers her passion for costume design and finds herself falling for Brad, the film’s famous leading man.



⚠🛑 Disclaimer: This review may contain movie spoilers


Rating (out of 5 stars): ⭐⭐⭐⭐1/2


Review:

I loved this movie! It caught my attention right from the beginning. This movie was funny, quick, had an interesting story, a phenomenal supporting cast and great performances from the leads. An overall fantastic movie to watch.


Plot

I'm not sure how, but they managed to find a plot that hasn't been done before in the Hallmark realm..or at least I think it hasn't been done. I loved how the whole movie involved telling the story through flashbacks. I thought this was an interesting way of telling the story and then led it back to the present where we would end the movie. I also LOVED how Hallmark was basically making fun of your typical Christmas movie. So many references to this like the "King of Christmas" and the fake snow. I chuckled a few times and thought it was brilliant for them to do.


The whole idea that this movie was about a movie being filmed in a small town was genius. It took the viewer in the world of Hallmark movie making and I was all in with this one. Even if alot of it was cheesy because let's face it...alot of them are! I also thought it was a unique way to integrate Kerry, who lived in the small town, into the movie making day-to-day by hiring her to be the costume designer.


One of the most enjoyable things of this movie was the secondary love story of love/hate relationship between the producer and the director. I found their scenes intriguing, funny and loving. I enjoyed that plot point immensely and loved watching it play out on screen. They had such an interesting background and you could sense the tension between them while working. It was a great secondary plot point that worked.


I am also really enjoying this new mid-movie kiss that Hallmark has been adding to some of the movies. They did it again in this one and it worked. The characters actually had a chance to get to know each other and have opportunities to support each other and get to know each other a little bit. They both encouraged each other to take chances and take opportunities to follow their passion whether it was for him to take that role in London or for her to take that job in New York.


I wasn't really able to gauge how exactly the conflict would come in for this movie. Often conflict is create and it is so minor that it leaves you scratching your head and thinking why didn't they just talk or ask a simple question to avoid the silly issue. No. This one was better. This one was unique. We find out that Brad decides not to do the new movie in London after he told Kerry he would take it and that there would be a job for her in London if she wanted it. Oh and by the way Kerry actually declined the job in New York so she could take that supposed job in London SO....Brad basically ruined her life too as she didn't have the job in New York or the job in London. Brad was selfish and didn't even consider how he would impact her life in this decision. This conflict was good. I could feel it. I'd be a bit ticked off too if I was her!


So after the conflict we move to the present day again and this is where I found things got way too rushed. There was so much more that could have been done to wrap this movie up in a neat bow. Instead it was rushed big time. The producer/director are back together and making a new movie. Kerry got a job as a costume designer on the new movie and now lived in Los Angeles. Brad took the job in London after all . Brad says he was wrong, they kiss, go outside to a horrible cheesy background and kiss. End scene. All this happened in less than 5 minutes. WAY too rushed.


Chemistry & Performances


John Brotherton - John Brotherton had me laughing so hard at the beginning with his big ego as the so called "King of Christmas" movies. Loved him. The first part of this movie when he was strutting around like a cocky movie star was just so funny. He nailed this for me. I admit I was skeptical when I saw he was starring in this movie as his intro into Hallmark land last year with CCB wasn't the greatest, but he has come full circle. Loved it.


Kimberley Sustad - What do I say about Kimberley Sustad. She is great. She always is. Whatever part she plays she puts everything into it and she did the same with this one. We saw insecurity, sadness, happiness, and much more from her. I thought she was quirky, funny and was overall solid yet again.


Chemistry - I definitely saw a great dynamic between the two although I'm not sure I would call it a romantic chemistry. The back and forth banter at the beginning was phenomenal and they played well off of each other and looked very comfortable. They did have a playful nature when they started to move more into the romance part of their story and I think with more time I would have seen the romance a bit more. Overall a good pairing.


Nancy (Mom) - Laura Soltis who played Kerry's mom Nancy was fantastic. I loved her character. I loved her infatuation with Brad and his movies. I thought she was funny, supportive and just a great supporting character.


Brad (Movie Producer) - I have seen Matthew Kevin Anderson in numerous Hallmark movies before but boy did he shine in this one. He had to be one of my favourite characters here. He was so funny and added such a great element to the movie. He made me believe I was on set at times with his quick sharp dialogue, barking orders and quick thinking. His little dispute with his ex-wife was funny with them going through a third person to talk to each other. I loved the side story of their relationship and how they found their way back to each other. He was a highlight for me while watching this movie.


Final Thoughts

You can't go wrong with this movie. I loved the different plot, the characters were fantastic and the on screen banter between the leads and some of the supporting cast was phenomenal. I had some good laughs and really enjoyed this movie. I would definitely recommend this and will watch this again.




164 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

#Xmas

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page