top of page
  • Writer's pictureRomance Movie Fanatic

Love's Portrait



Movie: Love's Portrait

Starring: Aubrey Reynolds, Richard McWilliams

Network: Hallmark Movies & Mysteries


Synopsis: Museum curator, Lily, finds a painting that's identical to her and searches for the artist in Ireland. There, William, a charming man joins her on her quest and helps her rediscover love.


⚠🛑 Disclaimer: This review may contain movie spoilers


Rating (out of 5 stars):

⭐⭐⭐3/4


Review:

I actually knew nothing about this movie before watching it. I didn't read a synopsis, or even see a preview. I only saw a photo but knew nothing about it. You know what? It wasn't bad. Overall I enjoyed this one.


The good:

Scenery: You can never go wrong with a movie shot in Ireland. One of the most beautiful places with gorgeous countryside. A place I have always longed to visit. Watching this movie just whisks you away while you journey with them to find out my about J. O'Brien.


Irish accents and culture: Real authentic Irish accents! Sigh it was beautiful. I loved the dialogue, the slang and just learning a little bit about life in Ireland. I was taken in by all of the actors and actresses speaking. It was wonderful. I love how they were authentic as it just adds so much more to the movie when you have actors who are originally from the country to which the film is taking place.


The Sister: LOVE, LOVE, LOVE William's sister Saiorse played by Kathryn McKiernan. Loved her accent, her personality and her hair. I would have loved to see a little more storyline develop for her. She was a strong woman who was sure of herself no matter what others thought she should or shouldn't do. She knew what she wanted and was happy with where she was. I loved this confidence and would love to see her story on screen some time.


Aubrey Reynolds: I thought she did a great job in this movie. I don't recall off hand if I have seen her before but I thought that she was quite charming. She has this natural way about her that I found endearing. The shot of her sitting on the stairs surrounded by all of the colourful leaves was absolutely stunning.


William's sweaters: I know this is a weird one but I have this love of a nice sweater. I have to say there were some nice sweaters on William in this movie. When he was under the bridge talking to his sister when she told him to go after Lily...I kept thinking...what a great sweater! LOL.


Sign language: I had no idea that we would have some sign language mixed into this movie and I loved it. I have studied a bit of sign language and am so glad it was represented in this movie.


The so so:

Plot: This one is on my good and not so good list this time. I enjoyed the mystery and intrigue of them going on a little hunt to find out who mysteriously sent the painting to the art gallery. I however found some of it slow and was a bit put off with the fact that William didn't divulge to Lily that he was the person who painted her. I think it would have added so much more to the story if he told her about his dreams as soon as he met her. Then they could work together and determine the rest of the story. I had more interest in how the painting ended up in the exact location where she worked and felt cheated that that story wasn't expanded on. Also the fact that he kept that from her made him a bit closed off and stiff to be quite honest and I didn't like that. I think he could have shown a bit more of himself if he just told her up front. And why didn't he show her all of the other drawings that he had done of her?


The not so good:

Chemistry: I really wasn't feeling much chemistry between Aubrey Reynolds and Richard McWilliams. Perhaps it was because McWilliams's character William was keeping his big secret...I don't know. I just found their chemistry a bit off. More friendly than romantic. I think there was a better on screen dynamic between Lily and Saiorse as they became friends during their hunt for J O'Briend.


Richard McWilliams: You know I just didn't like this character. I found him stiff and non-expressive throughout. I think this is why I didn't see any kind of chemistry between William and Lily. Even when they kissed at the end he didn't even crack a smile! Really put me off here as I thought he would show a bit more emotion but I just didn't get it.


Soulmate/Destiny: By the end of this movie I was so put off by all the soulmate/destiny talk...especially by the colleague at the museum. Enough already.




115 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

#Xmas

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page