top of page
  • Writer's pictureRomance Movie Fanatic

My Grown-Up Christmas List



Movie: My Grown-Up Christmas List

Starring: Kayla Wallace, Kevin McGarry

Network: Hallmark


Synopsis: Taylor, a journalist, and Luke, in the military, share a special bond that grows between them over the course of several Christmases that they spend together and apart.


⚠🛑 Disclaimer: This review may contain movie spoilers


Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐1/4


Review:

Real life couple Kevin McGarry and Kayla Wallace star opposite each other for the second time in 2022. Overall this was an enjoyable movie and well worth the watch.


As much as I loved it, there were a few things that were lacking for me. Having said that, these were over shadowed by the wonderful elements of the movie which we can talk about a little later. First the little things that didn't do it for me.


*Military - I'm not a military expert but I'm sure the military elements in this movie were far from accurate. There's no way that she would have been allowed to go to their "secret" location just because she missed him. Also I'm thinking that his hair would be a military no-no. But I understand we have a movie here so I'll let it go and not dwell on the inaccuracies.

*Timeline - While I appreciate that their love was over the course of years there was something lacking and that was their time getting to know each other. Yes I can assume that they obviously had alot of deep conversations via zoom albeit I would have loved to see that play out onscreen. Or I would have loved to see them have more in person time together. These two shine when opposite each other and more time would be welcome.

*Wedding dress fitting - Yikes. As much as I LOVED the dress in the actual wedding, I did not like the dress in the fitting. The wrap wasn't the best colour and she was falling out of the dress. She looked a tad uncomfortable trying to cover up her breasts which we falling out. This was rectified at the end with that stunning white wrap in the actual wedding. She was absolutely stunning.


OK so enough with the elements I didn't like and let's chat about what made this movie. There were 3 things that made this movie work.


*Kayla Wallace - By far this is the best role I have seen Kayla in. She absolutely made this movie. She was real, raw, emotional, loving. I cannot convey how much I enjoyed her in this role. Not to mention that she was stunning as a bride. I wasn't 100% sold on her hairstyles throughout the movie but I'll let this pass as she is just a stunning woman.

*Kevin McGarry - Love him. Loved his character. Loved his performance. This guy could look at a rock and make me believe that he was in love with it. There is something about how he looks at Kayla throughout this movie that makes it even more special though. Geez the eyes say it all. This guy is so smitten with his real-life love and that is seen in this movie 100%.

*Chemistry - Yes, yes & yes. 100% yes. This was not your typical Hallmark movie where the leads politely kiss at the end. This was kissing...kissing...and more kissing and I loved it.

Yes we didn't see the progression of their love but what we saw was real and deep.


Honorable mentions & some hidden gems in this movie.


*Holding hands - LOVED THIS! The dinner table, the Christmas tree. So many little hand holds that just melt your heart.

*Bridge scene - Sigh. Loved the deep conversation, the looks and then the kissing! Wowzers.

*Suspenders! - Shout out to the WCTH Team Nathan fans. There were some noticeable parallels to Kevin's WCTH character here except this time he wins in the end. We got the suspenders. He got the girl!


This movie is definitely one that can be watched again. As much as there are some little things that aren't the best, you quickly forget them because of chemistry and performances.



209 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

#Xmas

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page