top of page
  • Writer's pictureRomance Movie Fanatic

Pumpkin Everything



Movie: Pumpkin Everything

Starring: Taylor Cole, Corey Sevier, Michael Ironside

Network: Hallmark Channel


Synopsis: Amy, an up-and-coming novelist, returns to her hometown to look after her stubborn grandfather Tom and his pumpkin-themed store while confronting an old flame from her past.


⚠🛑 Disclaimer: This review may contain movie spoilers


Rating (out of 5 stars): ⭐⭐⭐3/4


Review:

Alert! Major fall vibes in this movie! Finally a movie from Hallmark which actually made me get into the fall season. We have been watching a few weeks now of the "Fall Into Love" Hallmark movies, and this is the first one that made me really feel it. The scenery, pumpkins, and leaves just were oozing with fall vibes.


"Pumpkin Everything" stars Taylor Cole (Amy) and Corey Sevier (Kit). It also showcases Michael Ironside as Amy's grumpy grandfather Tom. Amy is a vampire novelist who comes home when her grandfather has an accident. She spends her time pestering him to move into a retirement home and sell his cherished pumpkin-themed shop, all while rekindling her relationship with an old friend.


So this movie I think can be a hit or miss for some people. I think those that can relate to having a family member who won't accept help will appreciate this more. For those people who haven't struggled with this, I think outside of the acting performances, this could come across as slow and dull. I personally enjoyed this and was moved by it. You see I have parents who are in their 80s and for the last few years have been discussing how they need to think about downsizing from their bungalow only to be met by much resistance. So I know first hand how difficult it can be navigating discussions and suggestions with your elders who are not ready to accept they may need to slow down a little bit. My parents can be stubborn like Tom was so I can see why at times conversations had to be a little more forceful.


I tell the above as I know that some have been pretty hard on Taylor Cole's character in how hard she was to her grandfather. I do feel that she may have gone a tad overboard with demanding he sell the house, business and move into a retirement complex when the guy was in his 70s and only hurt his hand. I can however speak from first hand experience as to how real that scenario is for many with loved ones not willing to accept they may not be able to take care of themselves as well as they could 20 years prior. It's a tough conversation and at times may need to be very direct. I think it would have been a little more realistic to some if they guy was a tad older or was a little less able to take of himself.


This movie had some stellar performances from both Taylor Cole and Corey Sevier. I do admit I like them both so knew this would be a good movie, but I just didn't realize how outstanding of a job they would do. I thought that Taylor and Corey both stood out more than they have in other roles. I didn't really feel a huge chemistry/romantic vibe from the two of them but that didn't bother me much. I enjoyed this movie besides that. Michael Ironside was fantastic as always.


Some items worth mentioning


The DJ - Honestly I found the radio DJ at the retirement complex a tad annoying and seemed to be trying to be hip a bit too much. Too much of a hippy Woodstock vibe that didn't work for me.


Mom flirting - I absolutely loved when Amy's mother met the coffee shop owner and just dialed into the flirting. She was over the top and provided some good comedy.


Age - So I often overlook age discrepancies in these movies but this one was a bit glaring. The ages between the daughter, mom and grandfather just didn't make sense. Taylor Cole and Michael Ironside are probably about 35 years apart and yet he plays her grandfather. Not to mention that the mother looks like she is the same as as the actor who plays her father. I found this a bit distracting.


Overall this isn't a movie for everyone. I personally thought the plot hit close to home and did cause a wave of emotions. The combination of a great plot, stellar performances and a great fall vibe makes this a winning combination for me.



96 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

#Xmas

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page