top of page
  • Writer's pictureRomance Movie Fanatic

Retreat To Paradise



Movie: Retreat To Paradise

Starring: Melanie Stone, Casey Elliott, Brian Krause

Network: GACtv, SC Heart & Home

Release Year: 2020


Synopsis: Ellie tends to the injured and cantankerous Jordan as he heals from a shoulder injury. Though he struggles to learn to use his arm again, his attitude leaves Ellie wanting to leave him in his misery. But as they get to know each other more, Jordan starts to see Ellie is exactly who he wants in his life, and hopes Ellie feels the same way.


⚠🛑 Disclaimer: This review may contain movie spoilers


Rating: ⭐⭐


Review:

This one was tough to watch but the scenery in Fiji was beautiful. Totally wish I could go there. Anyway, the scenario didn't really help this one. It's not to say that the script was bad because it wasn't. It had a relatively good plot. It's just the delivery and the chemistry just wasn't there. What killed it for me was the character of Jordan. If that was me, I would have got on the first flight home after I saw how he treated the hotel staff and how he treated me.


Speaking of Jordan, can I just say that Jordan (Casey Elliott) is a jerk. Honestly from the first introduction of him I just wanted Ellie (Stone) to run. She got to see first hand how he abused others and herself with his words, I'm not sure what redeeming qualities he could have had to sway her opinion of him. If it was me, I would have run in the opposite direction as the guy clearly struggles with his ability to handle anything remotely troubling in his life. Yes I realize his sister died in a car accident and he is beating himself up about it. Yes I know his career is on the line and he doesn't want to help himself get better...but seriously. The guy is a jerk.

I also don't understand how he can turn his attitude around so quickly after 1-2 sessions with Ellie. Just didn't buy into his character.


Ellie (Stone) was pleasant enough. She held her own with Jordan and I liked Melanie Stone in this role. Honestly I would have been happier if she started up a relationship with Brian Krause's character. I have to admit that I haven't seen Brian Krause since his days on Charmed so every time I saw him I kept thinking...where's Piper? I liked the friendship that Ellie had with him far more than any relationship with Jordan.


The chemistry between the two characters was non-existent. I think I just couldn't get into their relationship just because of how he treated her so early on. I just couldn't get passed how much of a jerk he was and when he did anything nice I kept thinking...what does he want? Is something going to set him off again? I wasn't too far off as the beach date was pleasant...they kissed...and then he fell when climbing rocks and turned on a dime and was a jerk again to her. Run Ellie....RUN!!


Save yourself the trouble and don't watch this one. You'll thank me for it later.



49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

#Xmas

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page