top of page
  • Writer's pictureRomance Movie Fanatic

Rip In Time


Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐ 1/2

Movie: Rip In Time


Network: Hallmark Movies & Mysteries


Starring: Torrey DeVitto, Niall Matter


Synopsis: When organic farmer Sarah meets a man who claims to be from 1787 named Rip Van Winkle Jr., she soon discovers old fashioned romantic feelings that might be just as crazy as his story.


⚠🛑 Disclaimer: This review may contain movie spoilers


Review:

I am not a huge fan of time travel movies but I have to say, I really liked this one. From beginning to end this one had me entertained and captivated.


This movie was solid right from the beginning. I have to admit that when I found out that Hallmark was releasing yet another time travel movie I wasn't intrigued. I really don't like these movies as I find the plots over used and honestly boring. Alot of times the person who travels backwards just falls too quickly and comfortably into living in present day. So basically they are scared for 10 minutes and then adapt. Now I know these plots aren't realistic to begin with, but when a person who has supposedly traveled back in time 100+ years quickly adapts to electricity and every day life in that duration...I just don't buy it. But this one was different. The character of Rip (Niall Matter) didn't easily transition and maintained his uneasiness and/or surprise with the future for the duration of the movie. What a breath of fresh air that was.


There were three things that made this movie amazing for me and they were Niall Matter, Torrey DeVitto and the writing.


First Niall Matter was brilliant in the role of Rip. This is probably by far the best role I have seen him in for the Hallmark Network. His delivery of speech, mannerisms, and how he portrayed Rip was just fantastic. Niall's old fashioned manners and speech is what sold me on his character. It was raw and authentic. Best part was that he didn't waver from that throughout the movie. Regardless of him "adapting" to his current day he kept his charm, and old fashioned ways. Niall played him effortlessly.


Torrey DeVitto was also wonderful in the role of Sarah. She is quickly becoming a solid choice for Hallmark as not only was she fantastic in this role, but she was also wonderful in her last Christmas movie "The Christmas Promise" which aired late last year. She was so natural in this role and her chemistry with Niall was fabulous. They had a slow budding romance which was lovely and it peaked with that amazing kiss in the rain. Such chemistry.


Lastly the writing...perfect. Loved the script and everything about the movie. Tying this movie back to his father at the end was perfection. The scene where time travel was explained was unexpected but honestly I liked it. Not to mention when Rip "schooled" the antique dealer and told people what everything was really used for...that was epic. But the best writing was saved for the dialogue of Rip's character. This was brilliant. Some lines were so memorable.


"And thus I will depart much as I arrived with no fanfare or warning."

"I have tried to behave in only the most honorable of manner."

As if the story of Rip in present day and his budding relationship wasn't enough, there were also sub-plots of Rip's relationship with Sarah's son who was being bullied and the jealous police deputy. While the relationship with the son and helping him stand up for himself was good, I didn't particularly like the police deputy plot.


A solid movie definitely worth watching.



Recent Posts

See All

#Xmas

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page