top of page
  • Writer's pictureRomance Movie Fanatic

Romance in Style



Movie: Romance In Style

Starring: Jaicy Elliot, Benjamin Hollingsworth

Network: Hallmark Channel


Synopsis: Ella's unique designs inspire publishing mogul Derek to include plus-sized fashion in his magazine. Soon, Derek begins to realize that Ella's influence reaches far beyond the catwalk.


⚠🛑 Disclaimer: This review may contain movie spoilers


Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐ 3/4


Review:

I was not ready for this one. This one came out of no where and just blew me away. I LOVED this movie. It was fast paced, had a fantastic cast, great chemistry and discussed an important topic. LOVE LOVE LOVE.


I admit that the last few movies I've watched from Hallmark were less than stellar and I was prepared for another one to fall flat. Instead I was more than pleasantly surprised and here's why.


Benjamin Hollingsworth - I think Benjamin Hollingsworth had a desire to move himself up a few steps on the Hallmark leading men list and boy did he deliver. Listen. I have seen him in some movies before but after this role, he has definitely opened my eyes and he has moved way up on my favourite male lead list. He was outstanding. Probably the best role I have seen him in ever. He looked killer in those suits and the way he swaggered down the hall of the office while the ladies adored him. Loved it. The confidence. This guy was on fire. The way he looked at Ella...whoa. Fireworks.


Jaicy Elliot - I have never seen or heard of Jaicy Elliot before but welcome to my radar Jaicy. She came on screen and took over. She was phenomenal. Beautiful, confident, and yet at the same time vulnerable. This role was made for her. I loved every minute of her on screen and I definitely want to see her in another movie.


Chemistry - 🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥 - The chemistry between Hollingsworth and Elliot was unbelievable. The quick, cheeky, witty banter. The looks. That dance. It was electric. They were absolutely phenomenal and I was totally present for it. It was brilliant. By far one of the best pairings in Hallmark land. I would love to see these two paired up again. What I really liked about this chemistry the most was that right from the beginning Derek (Hollingsworth) noticed Ella. He wasn't hung up on what she did or did not look like. It was never an issue. That to me was sexy. From the first time he met her he noticed her.


Plot - The movie was very "Devil Wears Prada" which I was ok with. I would have liked a little more conflict from the "villain" but overall I enjoyed it. A girl trying to make it in the fashion world while having others around her trying to put her down. I liked it. What made this different was the addition of Ella being a plus-size woman trying to make it as a fashion designer. I do appreciate the overall theme of body-positivity and representation. About feeling comfortable and confident in your own skin. Having said this, I would now like Hallmark to move forward from this and just cast regular size women in roles and NOT have it be about their size or shape. That to me is what is next. Jaicy is a beautiful, talented actress and she needs to be cast in another role that let's her shine again. Don't make it be about size any more.


Costumes - 👗 👗 👗 👗 👗 - The clothing in this movie was phenomenal. Some of the outfits that Ella donned where absolutely beautiful. The cut, the fit, the colour. Everything was amazing. And that Cinderella dress was stunning.


This is definitely one of the best movies to air in 2022 and I highly recommend watching at least once. You will not be disappointed. A definite rewatch for me.



283 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

#Xmas

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page