top of page
  • Writer's pictureRomance Movie Fanatic

We Wish You a Married Christmas

Updated: Oct 30, 2022



Movie: We Wish You a Married Christmas

Starring: Marisol Nichols, Kristoffer Polaha

Network: Hallmark Channel


Synopsis: A couple goes to a quiet town to reconnect at Christmas on the advice of their marriage coach.


⚠🛑 Disclaimer: This review may contain movie spoilers


Rating (out of 5 stars): ⭐⭐⭐


Review:

I will be the first to admit that I didn't really have high hopes for this movie outside of the fact that it had Kristoffer Polaha in it. You see I'm not the biggest fan of Marisol Nichols after last years dismal Christmas CEO...BRUTAL movie. She was ok in Holly & Ivy but to date I haven't really seen her show real emotion and didn't expect any in this either. The content of the movie also seemed a bit drab for a Christmas movie so I went into this thinking it would be a complete downer. You know what...this movie it was better than I thought it would be. A fantastic performance by Kristoffer Polaha, some ok chemistry between leads, a little humour all while tackling a heavier subject.


Plot

So the plot was a bit deep for a Hallmark Channel movie. A couple married for years who have drifted apart and are essentially living separate lives. Work and a kitchen renovation have gotten in the way of them putting their relationship first. They go to a small town to try and work on their relationship. A town which, unbeknownst by them, are working together to help couples in need.


I think this is an all too familiar occurrence for some married couples and the movie tackled it well. You could see the struggle in both characters. They clearly still had a love for each other but didn't know how to get back into their groove. I felt that the story did lag in some areas but overall the little events that happened to force them to spend time together as well as the heartfelt openness of some conversations ended up tackling this well. I do feel that this movie would have been better suited on the Movies and Mysteries channel as it was a little deep.


Chemistry/Performances


Kristoffer Polaha - In the last few movies that I have seen Kristoffer Polaha in, he has really shined. I think that this particular movie wasn't the best by any means but he really was a stand out. His portrayal of Robbie was raw. The emotion on his face, gestures and how he carried himself were just phenomenal. The way he would look at Becca or touch her face was with such emotion. The look of despair in his eyes when he would feel how lonely or lost they were was so evident. He truly seemed like a lost, shattered husband who had such a love for his wife. I just can't explain how believable his performance was. I truly enjoyed him in this role even though the movie in itself was just ok.


Marisol Nichols - I am still waiting to be wowed by Marisol Nichols. I just have never seen her in a role that she truly was remarkable in. I find this one was a bit better for her but she didn't stand out. I find that she lacks real emotion in her roles and this one wasn't much different. Yes there were times that I thought...ok...I can feel her struggle, but it just wasn't a real raw performance. This character is supposed to be struggling in her marriage and struggling to figure out where they are going...I didn't feel it as much from her


Chemistry - Interesting question really. I felt it was one sided if that can be possible. I could see the connection that Robbie had and the love in many scenes or glances but I didn't feel anything from Becca really. The scene when they were walking and he kneels and pours out his heart at the gazebo...Kristoffer Polaha was all in. My heart was melting as he got lost in her eyes. In turn...Marisol Nichols had more of a hard look. I didn't see that same emotion in that very heartfelt scene.


Standouts/Questions


Jerry - To be honest by the end of this movie I was tired of Jerry the dog. He was in this a bit too much for my liking. Having said that, his presence made for one of the funniest moments in this movie when they entered Jerry into the Christmas parade. When Jerry went by Robbie and Becca and Robbie screamed "JEEERRRRYYY" I honestly laughed so hard. It was so unbelievably unexpected and funny.


Height - I had absolutely no clue how tall Kristoffer Polaha was until this movie. The guy looked like an absolute giant when he stood beside Marisol Nichols. What was interesting though was how I actually appreciated the size difference when they were having more serious discussions or when he was looking at her. Something about his size made me think about him protecting her. I though it elevated some of the scenes for me...especially the more serious, heartflet moments.


Parade - I admit at first I thought...wow...the parade seems pretty well done for a movie with the beautifully decorated float. Well when Jerry's float passed by and then it was over..I laughed so hard. The reaction of Robbie and Becca just helped elevate the humour a bit more for me. Well done. This was pretty funny

.

Cameo - It was such a surprised to see Pascale Hutton appear as the marriage counselor in this one. I like the little surprises now and then that Hallmark has in their movies. Pascale was a nice addition and played her part well even if she was only on screen for a few moments.


Alpacas - LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the alpacas in this movie. I liked the voice over clips they did for the alpaca greetings. Would have loved to see the movie end with an alpaca video greeting.



Final Thoughts

This movie was better than I was anticipating it to be. It had a phenomenal performance by Kristoffer Polaha, ok chemistry, some humour and a solid plot that flowed well. The subject matter would probably have served better over on the Hallmark Movies & Mysteries channel as it was a little deeper and serious in topic but nevertheless it was a good movie. Probably not one that I would watch regularly but good nonetheless.




104 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

#Xmas

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page