top of page
  • Writer's pictureRomance Movie Fanatic

WCTH Season 9 Episode 5 - My Thoughts



My thoughts on WCTH S9E5

Episode 5 was by far the best episode of WCTH so far. It was pretty good IMO.

I found that overall the stories had a little more to them and the focus wasn't always on the E&L story...which still lacks any real depth there outside of them kissing all of the time.


The standouts in the episode for me were Nathan & Allie, Fiona, Bill, the Canfields and Rosemary & Lee.


Welcome back Allie! Not sure why you were away for the first 4 episodes but I am so glad you are back. She waltzed back into Hope Valley on horseback with her uncle/dad and with her arrival there was a noticeable change in Nathan...his heart was back. The scenes they shared together were special. She called him dad...he loved it as did I. She asked him to shave that silly mustache..he did it and boy did he look good doing it. She quickly met Mei and seemed to hit it off with her right away. She even told her dad that Mei was beautiful to which he responded "really, I hadn't noticed." Yeah right you didn't Nathan.

I did find her reunion with Faith a little funny though. Since when did Faith and her have a close relationship? Did I miss something? When Faith saw her she walked up and hugged her and then later was offering advice during facials. I'm ok with the advice giving as Allie needs some strong "mother figures," however I found it peculiar as I don't ever recall her having a really close relationship with Allie before this episode.


The Canfields for me were the highlight of this episode. They have made my standout list 3 weeks in a row now! I absolutely love this family. This episode was deep. Minnie inviting Mr. Landis to supper even though the whole family did not like the man and have had some trouble since knowing him. The best line of the episode by far for me was when Minnie said "I'm hoping to to find a way to sit across the table from a man I do not like at all and change his heart." Wow. What a remarkable, faithful woman. Standing up and being an example for her children. This dinner was a time for forgiveness, healing and moving on. Although not much of their dinner was shown, what we did see what great. Landis showed a different side to himself noting his love for teaching music. They all bonded over music and appear to have mended some of the wounds. I just wish we could have watched more of this unfold.


Fiona came back after being absent for the last few episodes. It wasn't long before you found out that she went to close the oil deal with Mr. Smith. When Henry finds out he tears a strip off of her for not consulting him first. Did Fiona just sit back and take the yelling?? OH no she didn't. That girl fired back and held her own. Love this woman so much. Her independence and confidence. Something that is definitely needed in HV. Can't want to see how this unfolds next week.


Not sure how I feel about the race between Lucas and Nathan. I do want to say however that I would have liked to see the continued conversation between the two of them in the saloon that caused them to wager this bet. Oh to be a fly on the wall and be privy to this heated conversation. I do also think that Nathan winning this race was something that he needed to boost that confidence in himself.


Bill...oh Bill. Bill offered some comic relief for me during episode 5. He has taken it upon himself to mentor poor Hickham and it is causing some humour for sure. Hickham is like a deer in headlights in his new role as mayor so far, so Bill offering him some suggestions doesn't surprise me. I hope this continues for a little while.


Last but not least Rosemary and Lee. Finally we had a story worthy of my favourite couple. The last 4 weeks has just seen them interacting only during working hours and I've hated every minute of it. This episode showed me the old Rosie and Lee. His surprise, his poem, their holding hands and gazing at each other on the new Adirondack chairs he built for them. Loved it all. So glad my couple is back and I just hope that I continue to see this side of them and less of the business couple side.


Did you enjoy this episode? What were your favourite parts?




28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page