top of page
  • Writer's pictureRomance Movie Fanatic

WCTH - Elizabeth/Lucas/Nathan Love Triangle - Part 4


My feelings in S7 didn't really change too much from S6 however I did notice slight changes in characters. Lucas was being portrayed differently...still a little mysterious but not as bad as before. I still watched as he romanced her to try and win her. He was adamant they were just friends but seriously...who invites a single lady on an overnight trip as just friends? And how could she be so naive to think it was anything but romantic intent? And that romantic dinner in the library as just friends. When I watched this I just thought to myself how is she falling for this stuff. I thought perhaps she was more enamored with the idea of being wooed than by the person. I mean the guy had no real substance. His story never really amounted to anything as of yet. I just didn't see any development in his character at all. The only change I saw was he appeared to be nicer. He waltzed into S6 all mysterious and gruff and all of a sudden was more of a charming, agreeable, gentleman. I questioned the change in his character and, only because I knew the outcome, figured that this was the turn the writers were taking to try and win viewers onto the side of L. I can't imagine what you all thought about the change in his character when watching this week-to-week as you didn't have the same advantage as I did. For me I wasn't buying it. He hadn't progressed for me to see him as the right suitor for her. I still saw him as the gambling saloon owner vying for her affections.


S7 N was perhaps one of my favourites! I saw him open up a bit more. We found out so much about his past and what shaped him into the stellar man that he was. Such care was being taken to develop his character. He was even a little more playful and flirty with E. He had deeper conversations with her. They were more involved in each others lives and by now E had become significantly involved in the life of Allie as well. Just before he heads out of town he finally asks her out for coffee and to my surprise she didn't immediately say yes. I found that a bit odd as it wasn't too long before that in the barn where she seemed to be almost begging him to ask her out. Nevertheless N heads out of town and during this time L sweeps in and takes E to a Virginia Woolf reading overnight "as friends." It was when Nathan came back I felt the most for him. He came back all excited and he enters a town which is distant. No one wants to tell the Mountie about E and L. I didn't like the deception. I thought it was cold and uncalled for. It was here that I noticed that he really didn't have a friend to turn to. He was heartbroken and had to deal with it on his own and in his own way. As such he wore his emotions on his sleeve. He changed after this and put his guard up and rightly so. He had to protect himself & Allie right? I would. Some may say he had anger issues but I didn't think so. Then came the hug. He had just faced death in the face and came home to have E throw herself into his arms. With the way S6 & 7 were up to this point, I wanted to just allow myself to rejoice in this because she truly did love him, but in all honesty I didn't know what to make of this now. I didn't know what the writers were expecting me to believe at this point. I wanted to hold onto hope but alas I knew the outcome and at some point the tides would turn. Would she turn on him now? Was there more to their story? I can't begin to imagine how all of you were feeling at this point? Surely you thought she was choosing him.




12 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page